HomeContact

Jollibee is not a Black Hatter

There are numerous blog posts here, here, here, here and here, saying that Jollibee (website) is using black hat techniques. So is Jollibee (mascot) a Black Hatter :D? It was even published in Inq7 about the dirty tricks of Jollibee (website). Jollibee is dirty? Not the Jollibee (mascot), but the Jollibee (website) :D

I wouldn’t believe that Jollibee (website) would do black hat techniques directly. I suspect that this is an outsource job, and black hat techniques was the method use by that outsource company. Anyway, investigating further on sample doorway page, i dissect the source code and here’s what i found:

  • lot’s of hidden links using a 1×1 pixel (1.jpg)
  • links from various search engine queries with “Alt” attribute of the IMG field being keyword stuffed
  • hidden texts in H1, H2, and H3
  • Comments Keyword stuffing

But the thing that stands out is that there are outbound links going to www.on-linebrands.com. Who the hell is www.on-linebrands.com? Checking on G, they are a “Search Engine Optimization/Online Business Development”. So they are must be the Outsourcing Company hired by Jollibee (website) for their website optimization.

Did a background check on www.on-linebrands.com and guess what, i found other websites (here, here) with similar black hat techniques. It also includes a tagline “Optimized by Online Brands Ph Inc”.

By the way, i also found this link stating that a certain TrafficBus is also On-Line Brands. Hmmm…i still need to do more investigation regarding TrafficBus.

At least i have proven that Jollibee (mascot) is not a Black Hatter!

Mabuhay si Jollibee (mascot)! :D

10 Comments »

  1. I agree, beside I dont mentioned its Jolibee that uses black hat techniques but its Jollibee.com.ph ;).

    Wonder why they do nothing about it.

    Comment by Rodel Dagumampan — July 19, 2006 @ 6:34 pm

  2. Jolibee as a Black Hatter would not affect their sales since they rely more on their TV and Print advertisements. Their website is only a small part of their marketing campaign.

    If in case Google will ban Jollibee, there is always Yahoo, MSN and hundreds of search engines to use. Word of Mouth is still their best SEO technique.

    I also think that last 2002, there was no real line drawn to determine between black hat and white hat seo

    Comment by Alfredo Palconit — July 19, 2006 @ 7:27 pm

  3. Good point. Yes, it is not really Jolibee. It’s their SEO/SEM guys.

    Comment by Benj Arriola — July 19, 2006 @ 9:52 pm

  4. Yes that is right Joel, I work with Jollibee Food Corp before and they hire other company to maintain their site and to optimized it.

    Comment by rheena — July 20, 2006 @ 9:56 am

  5. @rodel - yep, it’s jollibee website that i’m referring to

    @alfredo - it really wouldn’t affect their sales here in phils. because they are so popular here, but it still affect them since they’re rolling out branches in other countries.

    @benj - i agree

    @rheena - so this confirms that jollibee (website) outsourced their SEO/SEM

    Comment by joel — July 20, 2006 @ 3:49 pm

  6. >Jolibee as a Black Hatter would not affect their sales since >they rely more on their TV

    That might be true now, but in the future? What if Jolibee decides to offer online services like online meal ordering, gift baskets, online childrens games, etc. A google ban would be a serious handicap, and much more expensive to correct. Much easier to fix the problem now.

    Comment by juan dela noypi.org — July 21, 2006 @ 6:36 am

  7. I think the lesson of the story is to be extra careful in choosing the SEO service provider for your company considering that yours has a very successful offline marketing history. And to top it all, Jollibee is a Philippine symbol.

    Comment by pomski — August 10, 2006 @ 6:58 pm

  8. Macalua is On-linebrands
    Macalua sucks in all kind of SEO

    MR SEO Philippines is just a joker!!

    Jollibee

    Comment by Hank Uy — January 3, 2007 @ 6:10 am

  9. cOOl….

    What does Mcdonald have to say about this. And what keywords were they aiming for?

    Comment by Tom — May 29, 2007 @ 1:39 am

  10. http://www.asisbiz.com/

    watch out for this site also….

    eto na ung bagong website ng on-linebrands ngayon…..

    the owner are 2 american assholes who never give salary and always cheat their clients

    look at their i-cards…

    i-card ung trademark ng onlinebrands un ung flash presentation na naka cd… sila lng ang company na i-card ang tawag dun

    Comment by leslie lopez — July 10, 2007 @ 3:46 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. | TrackBack URI
You can also bookmark this on del.icio.us or check the cosmos

Leave a comment



XHTML ( You can use these tags): <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong> .